• Academic briefs

    Dean’s list
    Eastern Kentucky University announces the students who earned Dean’s List honors for the Spring 2015 semester.
    The List includes: Jennifer Dufresne Brett, Casey Milane Hinton, Tiffani Amber Hutchinson, Bailey Kathleen Caudill, Shaela Bre Christian, Susan Brook Darnell, Elizabeth Rae Ford, Nicole Michele Foright, Ashlee N. Gaunce, Luke Thomas Graves, Daniel Steven Klapheke, Makinsey Brooke Lesak, and Cindy Kang Rognstad.

  • Safe Sitter Trainees
  • Eagle Scout Rank
  • Academic briefs

    The Morehead State University Dean’s List for the 2015 Spring Semester includes the following local students:

  • Sanders earns fourth place at national tournament

    Harrison County’s Jacob Sanders scored a national honor to round out his junior year.
    Sanders earned a fourth place at the National Speech and Debate (NSDA) tournament in poetry interpretation competing against 350 other regional winners.  
    He performed a total of 10 times over a three-day period to earn his national ranking.
    The five-day tournament was held in Dallas, Texas, June 15-19.
    Sanders was one of two Kentuckians to place this year at the tournament.
    He is also a national champion in dramatic presentation.

  • MCTC/LVC fall classes begin Aug. 17

    It’s not hard to believe that summer is slipping away, but during the hot summer days the team on the Hilltop has been busy getting ready for fall with new opportunities and classes. One outstanding feature will be the shiny new welding lab waiting for college students.

  • Academic briefs

    Emma Darnell a resident of Cynthiana, Kentucky, recently attended the Hugh O’Brian Youth Leadership Kentucky Seminar held at Eastern Kentucky University in Richmond, Kentucky from June 10-14, 2015. Darnell joined more than 230 other young high school leaders from the region. Representing Harrison County High School, Emma is the daughter of Kimberly and Allen Darnell.    

  • Cynthiana-Harrison County Museum’s Great Treasure Hunt
  • HCMS Honor Roll

    The Harrison County Middle School Honor Roll for the fourth nine-weeks includes:
    Sixth Grade - All A’s
    Kendall Box, Makayla Brewer, Emma Courtney, Emily Crowther, Alec Davisson, Liza Jane Gossett, Hailey Herrington, Madelyn Jones, Amber Kern, Adyson Lakes, Morgynne Lunsford, Caden Maners, Patrick Marshall, Laurel McDaniel, Sara McLoney, Kaylee Brooke Northcutt, Austin  Pack, Molly Perkins, Aaron Pickett, Emma Ratliff, J.D. Soard, Jensen Sullivan, Raven Sullivan, Jaelyn Terhune, Bailey Thompson.
    Sixth Grade - A/B

  • Academic briefs

    University of Pikeville Chancellor and Interim President Paul E. Patton has released the names of the top students for the spring 2015 semester. To qualify for the President’s List, students must be  full-time and receive a grade point average of 4.0.
    Harrison County’s Wesley G. Barnett is included on the spring President’s List.