• Academia

    Henderson, Tennessee--Freed Hardeman University has released the names of students who made the President’s List and the Dean’s List for Spring 2017. One Harrison County student was recognized.
    To be on the President’s List, a student must be full-time and have a 4.0 grade point average. Sarah Ruth Besson, a junior special education major from Cynthiana, is among the students named to the President’s List.

  • Safe Sitter Training

    Twenty-nine individuals, ranging from ages 11 to 13, completed Safe Sitter training on June 1 and 2 and July 11. Safe Sitter curriculum includes general information about child care techniques and development. Harrison Memorial Hospital (HMH) offered two classes this summer. Instructors for the course were: Annette Harney, HMH Day Care Supervisor; Jennifer Crump, HMH KidTown Preschool Instructor; and Tracy Lair-Barnes, HMH KidTown Manager.

  • What is livestock judging and what are its benefits?

    By Sidney Sowder,
    HCHS 4-H member

    Livestock Judging
    What do you think of when you hear the phrase, “Livestock Judging?” As a current member of the Harrison County 4-H Livestock Judging Team, livestock judging means a lot to me. During the year I spend a lot of my time working on livestock judging.
    It may seem like I use too much time practicing judging, but it sure is worth it. The hard work has paid off.  

  • Work Ready Kentucky Scholarship Program available

    The Work Read Kentucky Scholarship helps students who have not yet earned an associate’s degree afford an industry-recognized certificate or diploma.
    Help wanted in construction, transportation/logistics, health care, business services/IT and advanced manufacturing.

    •Be enrolled or accepted for enrollment at an eligible postsecondary institution in an approved program of study that leads to an industry recognized certificate or diploma in a high-demand workforce sector.
    •Be a Kentucky resident.

  • Academia

    Eastern Kentucky University recognized graduates at the conclusion of the Spring 2017 semester. The graduates were honored at commencement ceremonies May 12-13.
    Local EKU graduates include: Mary R. Heimlich, Melissa Jayne Whalen, Jamie Carol Snapp, Mark S. Barnes, Joseph Robert Thomas, Daniel Steven Klapheke, Randi Kremer Schweitzer, Susan Brooke Darnell, April Nacoe Barrett.
    President’s List

  • MCTC campuses to hold first ever open house for the Work Ready Kentucky Scholarship Program

    All four campuses of the Maysville Community and Technical College (MCTC) will hold an open house on July 20 from 3 to 6 p.m. to share valuable information on the new Work Ready Kentucky Scholarship Program. MCTC has campuses in Cynthiana, Mt. Sterling, Morehead and Maysville.

  • Campbellsville University honors teachers throughout Kentucky school districts for excellence in teaching

    By Joan C. McKinney, Director,
    Office of University Communications, and Maurizio
    Petito, graduate student, School of Education
    Kentucky’s 2017 Elementary Teacher of the Year, Kellie Jones of Taylor County’s Intermediate School, urged the teachers to whom she spoke at Campbellsville University to “keep your passion for teaching” and “Students today need passionate and energetic influence in their learning and in their lives.”

  • Thomas

    U.S. Air Force Airman 1st Class Tiffany B. Thomas graduated from basic military training at Joint Base San Antonio-Lackland, San Antonio, Texas.
    Thomas completed an intensive, eight-week program that included training in military discipline and studies, Air Force core values, physical fitness, and basic warfare principles and skills.
    Airmen who complete basic training also earn four credits toward an associate in applied science degree through the Community College of the Air Force.

  • 2017 Kentucky Junior Angus Preview Show
  • National FFA scholarship awarded to local student

    The National FFA Organization awarded a $1,000 Chevy Trucks scholarship to Anna Arthur of the Harrison County FFA. The scholarship is sponsored by Dan Cummins Chevrolet. Arthur plans to use the funds to pursue a degree at Murray State University (Ky.).
    For 33 years, scholarships have been made available through funding secured by the National FFA Foundation. This generous funding comes from individuals, businesses and corporate sponsors to encourage excellence and enable students to pursue their educational goals.