• Thomas

    U.S. Air Force Airman 1st Class Tiffany B. Thomas graduated from basic military training at Joint Base San Antonio-Lackland, San Antonio, Texas.
    Thomas completed an intensive, eight-week program that included training in military discipline and studies, Air Force core values, physical fitness, and basic warfare principles and skills.
    Airmen who complete basic training also earn four credits toward an associate in applied science degree through the Community College of the Air Force.

  • 2017 Kentucky Junior Angus Preview Show
  • National FFA scholarship awarded to local student

    The National FFA Organization awarded a $1,000 Chevy Trucks scholarship to Anna Arthur of the Harrison County FFA. The scholarship is sponsored by Dan Cummins Chevrolet. Arthur plans to use the funds to pursue a degree at Murray State University (Ky.).
    For 33 years, scholarships have been made available through funding secured by the National FFA Foundation. This generous funding comes from individuals, businesses and corporate sponsors to encourage excellence and enable students to pursue their educational goals.

  • Academia

    Western Kentucky University has released the Dean’s and President’s lists for the spring 2017 semester. Full-time undergraduate students with a semester grade-point average of 3.4 to 3.79 are named to the Dean’s List. Students with a GPA of 3.8 to 4.0 are named to the President’s List. Their names are marked with an asterisk (*).
    Local students are: Taylor C. Fry, *Augustus E. Madsen, and Clayton C. Jones.

  • Sowder completes auctioneering course

    Samuel Quentin Sowder has successfully completed the course in Auctioneering and Auction Sales Management at the Missouri Auction School.
    The diploma granted included the honorary title of Colonel. The honorary title of Colonel is a tradition dating from the Civil War.
    The concentrated course is conducted by the Missouri Auction School at the world’s largest auction training center. The training included lectures and workshops featuring prominent auctioneers from throughout America and participating in selling numerous public auctions in nearby communities.

  • Fauste qualifies to compete at world’s largest rodeo

    Haley Fauste, a 12th grade student at Harrison County High School has earned a position on the Kentucky state/provincial National High School rodeo team and will be traveling with fellow teammates to Gillette, Wyoming, July 16-22 to compete at the 69th annual National High School Finals Rodeo (NHSFR) in the Breakaway Roping, Barrel Racing, and Team Roping competitions.

  • McDowell Trust

    Thirty-three students at the Harrison County ATC just completed their OSHA Training. Twenty-two earned the OSHA 10-hour for Construction and 11 earned the OSHA 30-hour for Construction.
    The same 11 also earned their First Aid Certification. This was taught as part of the Construction Class at the Harrison County Area Technology Center.
    A donation from the Central KY Antique Machinery Association paid for the cost of the cards for the students. Students were from Harrison, Nicholas and Bourbon counties.

  • It’s Never Too Late! Scott Gray and daughter Autumn Gray Graduate from MCTC Together

    Last month, hundreds of students graduated from Maysville Community and Technical College. Among the sea of faces was a father–daughter duo, Scott and Autumn Gray.
    As his daughter Autumn prepared to begin college, she encouraged her father to go back as well. He was nervous and unsure about being surrounded by young students, but personnel at MCTC encouraged Scott to get started.
    “I remember them telling me, ‘I’m going to let you know right now that you are going to bring something to the table also.’” Scott said.

  • Northside Honor Roll

    Northside Elementary Honor Roll All Year includes:
    Third Grade
    John Biggs, Morgan Bihl, Preston Cole, Ava Denniston, Branson Fain, Blake Green, Shelbey Huber, Rylee Hudgins, Alana Romero-Lozano, Grayson Nickels, Owen Northcutt, Neil Olmsted, *Barrett Philpot, Dray Roberts, LeLand Rowell, Jacob H. Scott, Savannah Silcox, *Sarah Stump, Marie Thaxton.
    Fourth Grade