• Music Camp
  • School Menus

    Aug, 9-10
    * Menus subject to change due to weather and delivery.

    TUESDAY: Breakfast pizza or cereal, fruit, choice of milk or juice.
    WEDNESDAY: Biscuit and gravy or cereal or Pop-tart, fruit, fruit, choice of milk or juice.
    THURSDAY: Sausage pancake wrap or cereal or Pop-tart, fruit, fruit, choice of milk or juice.
    FRIDAY: French toast sticks or cereal or Pop-tart, fruit, fruit, choice of milk or juice.


  • Hep A shots required for all students

    Lee Kendall,
    News Writer

    With the new school year almost ready to get started, parents of school-aged children, particularly those who will be starting school for the first time, need to be able to document individualized immunization and vaccination schedules.
    There are new immunization requirements this year regarding the Hepatitis A vaccine.
    The following information appears on the Harrison County School’s website and provided by Rachel Wilson, school district nurse.

  • Gillispie participates in the Henry Clay Center for Statesmanship 2018 National High School Student Congress

    Branson Kent Gillispie of Cynthiana, student of Harrison County High School participated in the Henry Clay Center for Statesmanship in June. He is the son of Sheri Gillispie and Tony and Kerri Gillispie.
    The Statesmanship is an innovative non-profit dedicated to educating a new generation of leaders in the essential skills of cooperation, negotiation, dialogue, and compromise, welcomed 50 high school students to Lexington, Ky. for its annual High School Student Congress, hosted on the campus of Transylvania University.

  • Harrison Co. students awarded Farm Bureau scholarships

    Melicity Nakay Fraley, Anna Katherine Furnish, and Dalton Thomas Switzer, all seniors at Harrison County High School, are the recipients of college scholarships from Kentucky Farm Bureau. In partnership with County Farm Bureaus, the Kentucky Farm Bureau Education Foundation awarded $465,400 this year to deserving students from across the Commonwealth.

  • Sullivan University dedicates Center for Learning in Nicholas Co.

    CARLISLE, Ky. - Sullivan University formally dedicated the Sullivan University Center for Learning - Carlisle Friday, officially launching a facility that will not only provide education opportunities, but also professional skills training and programs for workers and employers.
    Sullivan University administration, faculty, students and staff were joined by local government, community and business leaders for a ribbon-cutting ceremony at the Carlisle Center for Leaning, which is located at 2323 Concrete Road in Nicholas County.

  • Academia

    Eastern Kentucky University announces the Dean’s Award recipients for the Spring 2018 semester.
    Award recipients include: Faith Noel Hopkins, Courtney Lynn Jackson, Jesse Waldon Klapheke, and Taylor Brooke Schreiber, all of Cynthiana.
    To earn the Dean’s Award, students must achieve Dean’s List honors at EKU for three semesters.

  • Viewpoint pictures
  • Harrison County students attend Institute for Future Agricultural Leaders

    Harrison County High School juniors Hannah Perkins and Jessica Tucker recently returned home from Kentucky Farm Bureau’s Institute for Future Agricultural Leaders (IFAL). Perkins, Tucker and 44 other high school students from around the state attended the five-day summer leadership conference, held June 17-21 at the University of Kentucky.
    An identical IFAL conference was also held June 10-14 at Murray State University for an additional 46 students.

  • Kentucky Blood Center assists high school seniors

    Harrison County High School graduate Morgan Barker, of Cynthiana, and Sarah Wright, of Berry, have received a $250 Power of Life Scholarship from Kentucky Blood Center. Barker plans to attend Western Kentucky University, and Wright plans to attend Maysville Community & Technical College.
    Since 2010, Kentucky Blood Center (KBC) has granted nearly 700 scholarships to Kentucky high schools that host blood drives. The school earns the award based on the number of donations at those blood drives. The high school then selects the scholarship winner(s).