• Academia

    University of Pikeville President Burton J. Webb, Ph.D., has released the names of the top students for the spring 2019 semester. To qualify for the President’s List, students must be full-time and receive a grade point average of 4.0.
    College of Arts and Sciences, Elliott School of Nursing - Olivia Charles of Cynthiana.

  • Perkins elected Kentucky FFA Regional Vice President

    Hannah Perkins was elected to serve as the 2019-2020 Kentucky FFA Northern Kentucky State Vice President. She is the daughter of Allen and Michelle Perkins of Sadieville. She is a member of the Harrison County FFA chapter where her advisors are Lacey Short and Chris Thompson.
    Perkins was one of 21 candidates who ran for state office from across the Commonwealth. She completed an application and rigorous interview process. She was selected by a nominating committee made up of graduating senior FFA members and elected unanimously by the delegate body.

  • Beshear: Don’t pay up front for student loan debt relief

    Scammers offer already free service for a fee
    Attorney General Andy Beshear has issued a scam alert to warn former and current college students about companies offering student loan debt relief for a fee.
    Beshear’s office and the Federal Trade Commission (FTC) say it is illegal for companies to charge upfront fees before providing debt relief services.

  • Blue Grass Energy announces scholarship recipients

    Blue Grass Energy  announces the winners of its 2019 Scholarship Program. Ten $1,500 scholarships were awarded to students chosen by a random draw at last week’s annual meeting.
    The 2019 scholarship winners are:
    • Marcus Alzner - Lexington
    • Abigail Ambrose - Berea
    • Lauren Chadwell - Berea
    • Leah Hatton - Nicholasville
    • Michaelina D. Livolsi - Nicholasville
    • Parker Ridings - Frankfort
    • Christen Smith - Cynthiana
    • Hunter Sparks - Cynthiana

  • Academia

    Midway University is announces the students who have been named to its Dean’s List for the 2019 Spring Semester. To be named to the list, a student must be classified as full-time and obtain a 3.60 grade point average for the semester. There were 239 students who made the Dean’s List.
    Included on the list were: Lekenrick Boyers, Kenzi Graves, and Autumn Gray, all of Cynthiana, Ky.

  • Academia

    Benjamin Bradford was named to the Transylvania University Dean’s List for winter 2019.
    To be named to the dean’s list, a student must achieve at least a 3.5 grade point average during the term.

  • Honor Roll

    The Harrison County Middle School Honor Roll for the fourth nine-weeks includes:
    All A’s
    Harlie Abner, Sarah Arnold, Taylor Bailey, Avery Barnes, Hannah Barrett, Lindsey Bennett, Brooke Bennett, Riley Bihl, CeCe Boland, Shannon Bostic,, Nathan Bowen, Sophia Bowlin, Trey Bramel, Kylee Brinker, Daniel Cameron, Mary Canupp, Kade Carpenter, Ellie Carr, Madalyn Carson, Ella Cash, Tim Chapman, James Chipman, Madison Collins;

  • Honor Roll

    The Eastside Elementary Honor Roll for the fourth nine-weeks includes:
    A/B Honor Roll
    Wilson Barnes, Toby Barry, Amelia Beam, *Sydney Brannock, Austin Brinegar, Eva Calder, Peyton Callahan, Brynn Clark, Thalea Cruz, Abigail Dennis, *Danielle Franklin, Brooklynn French, Michael Fuller, Michael Hatton,   Harrison Hatter;

  • Summer Food Service Program to begin June 3

    The Harrison County Board of Education is participating in the Summer Food Service Program. Meals will be provided to all children without charge and are the same for all children regardless of race, color, national origin, sex, age or disability, and there will be no discrimination in the course of the meal service. Meals will be provided, at a first come, first serve basis, at the sites and times as follows:
    June 3-July 26 (no meals served on July 4): Lunch only at River Road Ball Park from 12-12:30, Monday-Friday; Berry City Park from 12-12:30, Monday-Friday.

  • Academia

    Danielle Franklin, daughter of Chris and Cindy Franklin and a fifth grader at Eastside, was the Harrison County winner of the “2018-2019 Grandparent of the Year” essay contest sponsored by AARP Kentucky and the Kentucky Retired Teachers’ Association.
    The essay competition is a unique way to recognize the significant contributions that older Kentuckians make toward shaping the lives and values of youth across the Commonwealth.
    Danielle is pictured with her grandfather, Roy Dean Franklin.