Today's News

  • Harrison County track teams run at Scott Co., host invitational

    The Harrison County High School track teams continued this unusual season last week participating in the Scott County All Comers on Tuesday afternoon.
    The Tuesday meet was followed by the weather-delayed Harrison County Invitational on Thursday.  
    At Scott County, the Thorobreds had one of their finest performances of the year as they won the meet beating several teams who they had trailed on other occasions.
    Four first place finishes led the way for the Thorobreds as Coach Robert Walker tried some new combinations that worked out well.

  • Sports beat

    Northern Kentucky softball season
    ends with losses
    in regional
    The Northern Kentucky Lady Norse ended the season last week as they lost two heart breakers in the regional in Saginaw, Mich. The Lady Norse lost to Saginaw Valley State 1-0 on a suicide squeeze in the bottom of the seventh on Monday and then came back on Tuesday to drop another 1-0 game to Ashland.

  • Donkeyball draws crowd despite other activities

    I would be remiss if I didn’t comment on the donkey basketball game held at the middle school on Friday, May 6.  
    Erin Butler did an outstanding job organizing and putting the event together.  It was well run and very well attended even though there was a softball game, baseball game and a tennis match going on at the same time.  
    Marshall’s Tractor Supply was the winning team though there was not a Marshall on a donkey.  They ran rough shod (donkey term) over Southern States in the championship game.

  • Jet’s John Conner visits with Harrison County football team

    Former University of Kentucky fullback and current New York Jet John Conner visited the Harrison County High School weight room Friday afternoon and talked to the football team.  
    Coach Mark Carroll and 27 of his players were on the Hilltop to gain some wisdom and conditioning tips from Conner and Clif Marshall of Ignition, who brought Conner in to speak to the players of his alma mater.  

  • Harrison District Court

    Judge Charles W. Kuster Jr.
    presiding May 5, 2011
    Estate of Agnes S. McDowell Trust, settlement; passed.
    Matthew T. Baker, 1977, show cause deferred/installment payment; 37 hours community service converted back to fines and costs.
    Donna M. McGee, 1959, show cause deferred/installment payment; paid.
    David L. Ritchie, 1991, show cause deferred/installment payment; paid.

  • Harrison County Sheriff's Department

    Traffic Cases
    The following information from the Harrison County Sheriff’s Office indicates drivers and/or owners whose vehicles were involved in accidents.

    May 6 – At 11:40 p.m., a non-injury accident was reported on Wornall Lane. Neva Crump and a Chevy pick-up truck, driver unknown, were traveling on Wornall Lane and struck side mirrors. The Chevy truck continued north on Ammerman Pike where the vehicle struck three different mailboxes before fleeing the scene.

  • Cynthiana Police Department

    Case reports
    May 1 – At 1:20 a.m., police were called to Elm Street reference to a harassment.
    May 2 – At 4:39 a.m., police were called to Harrison Memorial Hospital in reference to a juvenile female who was intoxicated.
    May 1 – At 11:42 a.m., Jessie Florence of Victory Lane Car Wash reported that someone tried to remove a 10 -foot section of pipe from the car wash overnight.
    May 1 – At 12:20 p.m., police were called to Church Street on a domestic/custody situation.

  • Lenton Food Drive
  • HCHS Students of the Month

    The Harrison County High School students of the month for April are: from left, Luke Arthur, son of Allen and Allyson Arthur and Dillon Pulliam, son of Bill and Debbie Pulliam. Sponsor is Major Plumbing Supply.

  • Academic briefs

    Annastasia K. Hicks, a senior at Harrison County High School, is the recipient of a major scholarship to attend Heidelberg University.
    Hicks, the daughter of John and Tamera Hicks of Cynthiana, is the recipient of the Trustees Award of $13,000 a year for four years. The award was announced following Heidelberg’s annual scholarship competition in  February.