Today's News

  • Viewpoint

    Tradition is a fickle thing.
    Some traditions are self-sustaining and important, some traditions might evolve and change slightly over time and some traditions are just, well, inane and might simply run their course and go away.
    Our family has traditionally exchanged presents and celebrated Christmas on the night before. That has remained unchanged.
    Other family traditions have been modified from year to year, with changing and growing families.

  • Property Transfers

    Timothy A. Florence and Lora Wright Florence to Lyda L. Florence, property at 207 N. Main Street.
    Sole Ownership-Cash Deed for Kentucky: Secretary of Housing and Urban Development to Nancy L. Allison, Lot 10 of the Cain Ridge Subdivision, Harrison County (3843 North U.S. Hwy. 27), $71,900.
    Tax Ease Lien Servicing, LLC, James Kasten, Della Kasten, Marie St. John and Harrison County to Tax Ease Lien Servicing, LLC, property on the County Road, Harrison County, $100.

  • Harrison County Beef Cattle Association annual meeting is Nov. 1

    By Jessica Barnes, County extension agent for agriculture & natural resources
    The Harrison County Beef Cattle Association will hold their annual meeting on Tuesday, Nov. 1 at 6  p.m. The event will take place at the Harrison County Extension Office.  

  • Crossword Puzzle Solution
  • Viewpoint

    In recent columns I’ve touted the resurrection of our Maiden City and those who have been behind the push.
    Things happening in Cynthiana are wonderful. It has taken the right people doing the right things at the right time.
    I’m so very proud of those young minds as well as all of the volunteers -- young and old -- who have worked tirelessly to ensure that Cynthiana doesn’t become The Forgotten City.
    With that said, I want to turn to the school district.

  • Crossword Puzzle

    1. Wisdom tooth, e.g.
    6. Slovenly abode
    9. ____ row
    13. “Leave me ____!”
    14. Lamb’s momma
    15. Chew out
    16. Stirs up
    17. *Reagan, to friends
    18. Extend subscription
    19. *Electoral entity
    21. *Election day
    23. Right-angle building extension
    24. Cat-headed Egyptian goddess
    25. British broadcaster
    28. Plural of locus
    30. Farmer’s turf, pl.
    35. Pale or bitter beverages
    37. 1960s boots

  • Band advances to state semifinals
  • Wiglesworths are creating memories by laser

    Lee Kendall,
    News Writer

    A unique new business has opened on Walnut Street, almost directly across from The Walking Dead mural.
    Licking Valley Laser Works has been in operation for two months and the owners, Andy and D.A. Wiglesworth, are excited about the possibilities their business holds for the future.
    In a nutshell, LVLW has the capabilities to provide high quality laser images on just about anything, including wood, glass, metal, acrylic, plastic, stone, granite, etc.

  • community calendar

    THURSDAY, Oct. 27
    World Explorers. Thursday, Oct. 27 at 5:30 p.m. at the Cynthiana-Harrison County Public Library. For families with children in Pre-K through 2nd grade. Each month at the public library we will explore a new topic. This session’s topic will be: Literacy. Children and their families will explore the many doors a book opens with the book Chicka Chicka Boom Boom. Pre-registration is encouraged and appreciated.

  • Reunions

    CLASS OF 1976
    The 1976 graduating class of Bourbon County High School will be held Saturday, Oct. 29 from 6-11 p.m.,  upstairs in the Thyme Cafe annex, across the street from the cafe, at 500 Main St., Paris, Ky.