• Academic briefs

    Bellarmine University has named students to its dean’s list for the spring 2012 semester. The dean’s list recognizes students who receive a grade point average of 3.5 or above on a 4.0 scale. The following local residents were named to the dean’s list:
    Cynthiana resident Cliffton Snider, a senior who is majoring in exercise science, and previously attended Harrison County High School

  • Radcliffe selected to participate in Kentucky Ambassadors of Music Tour of Europe

    On June 25, more than 200 outstanding student musicians will gather at the University of Louisville for five days of rehearsal and performances prior to departing to seven European countries for a 16-day tour.
    Ellen Ratcliffe, Cynthiana, has been selected for this honor. Radcliffe plays clarinet and has been a member of the Harrison County High School music program, directed by John Merz.  
    She is the daughter of William Ratcliffe and Rebecca Hutchins.

  • Campbellsville University honors teachers throughout Kentucky for excellence in teaching

    By Joan C McKinney, Campbellsville University
    News and Publications coordinator and
    Ashley Bolton, studnt news writer
    Dr. Brenda Priddy, dean of the Campbellsville University School of Education, congratulated 167 teachers from 63 school districts throughout Kentucky as they received the Campbellsville University Excellence in Teaching Award Saturday, May 12, on the CU campus.

  • HCMS Honor Roll award
  • Academic briefs

    Berry resident Joseph R. Anderson has been named to the Spring 2012 Dean’s List at Berea College. A student is named to the Dean’s List who achieves a GPA of 3.2 or higher for a minimum course load equivalent to  16 semester hours.
    Berea College, located in Berea, Ky., is a non-denominational, comprehensive college that offers Bachelor’s degrees in 32 majors, including arts and sciences and select professional programs, as well as independent majors designed by students to mirror approved majors at other colleges.

  • Harrison County Girl Scouts
  • Harrison County Middle School

    The Harrison County Middle School Honor Roll for the fourth nine-weeks includes:
    Sixth Grade - All As
    Morgan Barker, Elizabeth Barnes, Cameron Blankenship, Ariel Bryan, Cameron Cooper, Madison Coppage, Dakota Covert, Haley Creech, Hannah Creech, Mersadeez Dietrich, Max Ferguson, Kelby Gaunce, Kelsey Hutchison, Alyssa Kilpela, Olivia King, Emmalee Lutes, Sydnie Lyons, Devin Mattox, Alex Midden, Karlee Migneault, Emily Northcutt, Madelyn Peveler, Kasey Pike, Owen Stephens, Morgan Sumpter, Rachel Swinford, Bailee Thornsbury, Johana Torres, Ben Vanhook.

  • Westside Elementary

    The Westside Elementary Honor Roll for the fourth term includes:
    Third Grade - All As
    Dallas Barrett, Benji Brewer, Gavin Miller, Kaylee Brooke Northcutt.  
    Third Grade - A/B

  • Academic briefs

    Hundreds of additional incoming freshmen and transfer students have accepted merit-based scholarships to attend Eastern Kentucky University.
    Harrison County recipients include:
    •Karissa Anderson, Cynthiana, Harrison County High School, Colonel Plus Scholarship
    •Rachel Blackburn, Cynthiana, Harrison County High School, Maroon Scholarship
    •Lucinda Boyers, Sadieville, Harrison County High School, Presidential Scholarship


    The Southside Elementary Honor Roll for the fourth nine weeks includes:
    Fourth Grade A/B