Sports beat

-A A +A

1991 Regional Champions to be honored
at Jan. 15 basketball game
The Harrison County High School Regional Champs will be honored Saturday, Jan. 15, during the Williamstown game.  
There will be a reception for the players, cheerleaders, coaches and support staff as well as a video tribute to the Thorobreds.  There will also be videos of the 37th District and 10th Region Championship games.  
Recognition of the participants will be made between the junior varsity and varsity contests.  
Cheerleaders were Kristin Currans, Casey Spring, Rachel Ware, Amy English, Nickie Fryman, Lisa English, Candida Clifford, Maria Kuster, Jenny Swinford, Shelley Northcutt, Amy Sims, Nancy Judy, Sarah Smith, and Stacy Currans.  Stat people were Amber Cooper, Jan Leigh Fuller, Erin Wright and Amy Castle.  Aaron Buis was the student trainer with managers Jeff Witajewski, Jeffrey Sowder, Chad White and Bryan Witajewski.  The players were Darryl Cole, Jerry Fogle, Brad Allison, Johnny Mac Dawson, Chris Reffett, Jody Crump, Chris Stone, Dan Furnish, Shon Walker, Kris Reitz and Kevin Morrison.  Faye Thornton was the cheer coach.  Mike Reitz was the head coach assisted by Lee Kendall and David Case.  Joyce Clifford was the principal of the high school in 1990-91 and Gary Dearborn was athletic director.
The cheerleaders were winners of the Best Pom and K Pep Awards in the 10th Region competition with Lisa English and Sarah Smith named All Region. Kris Reitz, Jerry Fogle, and Kevin Morrison were on the All Region Team and Chris Reffett and Jody Crump were named Junior All Stars. Dr. George Paul Hehr was the superintendent of schools during the 1990-91 school year.

Middle school dual
On Dec. 30 Harrison County Middle School held its dual tournament at the Middle School. Five of the top 15 teams in the state participated in the day long event with North Hardin coming out on top.
The tournament was divided into two pools of five teams. Those teams faced each other in a dual format with the top individuals from each team coming out into the championship round for their respective weight. Harrison finished fifth on the day with 18 individuals placing in the top four.
Nathan Lopez and Noah Mitchell were champions of the 82 and 131 weight class. Terrell Roberts was second at 124. Colton Mott finished third at 117 as did Clay Arthur at 140. Michael Mattox, Sean Mullikin and Cody Wyatt rounded out the team scoring with fourth place finishes.