Nine file for city race

-A A +A
By Becky Barnes

Just one year into a two-year term, candidates for Cynthiana City Commission are filing for the next election.

Nine candidates met the Tuesday deadline. Incumbents Bill Doan, Jack Keith, James Martin and Jimmy New filed for re-election.

The five additional candidates are Cherity Christopher, Mark Mattmiller, Amanda Moore, Price Mitchell and Elizabeth Jones.

County Clerk Linda Furnish said a primary election for Cynthiana City Commission will be held May 20 because there were at least nine candidates who filed.

The primary will reduce the slate to eight candidates, who will appear on the Nov. 4 ballot. Four candidates will be seated in November.

Furnish said there are a number of election issues facing voters this election.

The last day to register to vote is April 21.

She said because this will be a presidential election, many voters who have not recently voted will be showing up at the polls. She urged voters to call her office at 234-7130 prior to the April 21 cutoff to make sure their names are still on the roll and have not been purged for not voting in previous elections.

There are also strict guidelines for absentee voting eligibility. There are deadlines for those who will be voting at the county clerks office and different deadlines for those seeking mail-in absentee ballots.

Dont wait until the last minute, Furnish urged.

Berry residents will also be electing new city commissioners. However, those will not appear on the ballot until November.

Candidates who filed Tuesday are incumbents Donald Brown, Johnny Murphy and Jos Sisneros. Also filing were Melissa Lea and Mary Nichols.