Harrison Co. farmers eligible for Federal disaster assistance

-A A +A
By The Staff

Farmers in 112 counties, including Harrison County, are eligible for Federal disaster assistance, including low interest emergency (EM) loans from USDA’s Farm Service Agency (FSA) provided eligibility requirements are met.

On March 9 a disaster declaration for Kentucky counties as disaster areas due to damages and losses caused by severe winter storms and flooding that occurred Jan. 26, 2009-Feb. 13, 2009.

As a result of the declaration, other Kentucky counties were named as contiguous counties where eligible family farmers may qualify for FSA EM loan assistance.

EM loan applications for physical and production losses will be received through Nov. 9, 2009, and applications pending on that date may be processed and completed.

Farmers interested in applying for assistance should contact the FSA office at 103 Rodgers Park Dr., 859-234-2646.