Academic Briefs

-A A +A
By The Staff


Ashley Bradford, of Harrison County High School, is the recipient of a $4,000 Sam Moore Scholarship.

The grant is one of 66 college scholarships worth $99,300 that are being awarded this year by the Kentucky Farm Bureau Education Foundation.

Recipients were judged on a variety of issues such as academic excellence, extra curricular activities, leadership abilities and financial need.

Bradford plans to attend Morehead State University to become a veterinary technician. She is the daughter of Troy and Mary Ware Bradford of Cynthiana.


A Harrison County native received a Bachelor of Arts degree from Transylvania University on Saturday, May 23, during a commencement ceremony on the front steps of historic Old Morrison.

Nathaniel Ryan Donaldson, a history major and economics minor, graduated magna cum laude with honors in history. Donaldson is the son of Robert and Michele Donaldson of Sadieville.


Alex Spenser Fryman graduated cum laude from the University of Kentucky College of Engineering on May 9, 2009, with a Bachelor of Science degree in materials engineering. 

He is a 2005 graduate of Harrison County High School and the son of Rick and Suzie Fryman of Cynthiana. His maternal grandparents are Lyle LaCore and Carol LaCore; paternal grandparents are the late Willard and Maxie Adams Fryman.


The following students from Harrison County were among the record 290 graduates to receive a bachelor’s degree during Georgetown College’s commencement exercises May 16.

Bachelor of Arts

Elizabeth Jane Allen, daughter of James Allen.

Dustin Ellis Hatfield, son of Rankin and Mary Hatfield.

Bachelor of Science

Jenny Michelle Schneider, daughter of Randall and Klaetta Schneider.

Austin Ryan Sparks, son of Ray and Jennie Sparks.


Mallory Marshall graduated Magna Cum Laude on May 9 from the University of Kentucky with a degree in psychology. She has been accepted into the school psychology graduate program at UK and will attend in the fall.

She is the daughter of Rebecca Marshall and Rees Marshall.


Samantha Shirley and Megan Lynch were among the 740 high school juniors from 46 high schools in Central Kentucky recognized in this year’s “Youth Salute.” The annual awards ceremony was held in their honor at Midway College. A top Youth Leader was named for each high school, as well as “Youth Leaders of the Year.”

In order to qualify, the student had to be a junior (senior class of 2010), have a 3.0 G.P.A. or better and have held at least two leadership roles to which they were chosen by their peers or an adult leader within the past two years in school, religious or community sponsored organizations.

Samantha Shirley, Harrison County, received a $500 scholarship provided by College Finance and Planning.

Megan Jean Lynch, Harrison County, received a $4,000 scholarship provided by Midway College.