Academic briefs

-A A +A

Six HCHS grads named Sen. Jeff Green Scholars

Six 2014 graduates of Harrison County High School have been named Sen. Jeff Green Scholars by the Kentucky Higher Education Assistance Authority (KHEAA). To earn this honor, a student must have a 4.0 grade point average each year of high school and at least a 28 composite on the ACT.
These students have also earned $2,500 a year in Kentucky Educational Excellence Scholarship (KEES) awards. If they keep their grades up in college, they will have $10,000 to use toward a four-year degree.
HCHS graduates who earned this honor were Ally Barnett, Erin Bradford, Luke Graves, Elissa McLaren, Joshua Pulliam and Edward Smith.
The designation honors the late state Sen. Jeff Green of Mayfield, who served in the Kentucky General Assembly from 1992 to 1997.