Academic briefs

-A A +A

Bellarmine University has named students to its dean’s list for the spring 2012 semester. The dean’s list recognizes students who receive a grade point average of 3.5 or above on a 4.0 scale. The following local residents were named to the dean’s list:
Cynthiana resident Cliffton Snider, a senior who is majoring in exercise science, and previously attended Harrison County High School
Cynthiana resident Aaron Williams, a senior who is majoring in political science, and previously attended Harrison County High School
Sadieville resident Jessica Whelan, a sophomore who is majoring in biology, and previously attended Scott County Senior High School
Bellarmine University is an independent Catholic university in Louisville, Ky., offering more than 50 majors, as well as graduate degree programs and doctoral programs in nursing, physical therapy and education.

Campbellsville University Vice President for Academic Affairs Dr. Frank Cheatham has announced the academic honors’ list for the spring 2012 semester.
Virginia Louise Marsh, sophomore of Cynthiana, Ky., has been named to Campbellsville University’s Dean’s List for the spring 2012 semester.
The academic honors’ list recognizes students who achieve a grade point average of 3.50 or above for the semester with a course load of at least 12 hours. The spring 2012 academic honors’ list includes a total of 460 students, with 272 named to the Dean’s List for achieving a grade point average of 3.5-3.99.

Midway College is pleased to announce the 207 students who have been named to the Spring 2012 Dean’s List. In order to be named to the Dean’s List, a student must be classified as full time and must have achieved a minimum grade point average of 3.60 for the semester.
Students from Harrison County who earned Dean’s List status are: Heather Ballinger, Alisha Ellis, Sarina Gasser and Alyssa Hudgins.

Katherine Sowder and Macey Gasser, both seniors at Harrison County High School, are the 2012 recipients of college scholarships from Farm Bureau. Both of these students received a $1,000 Harrison County Farm Bureau Scholarship. These awards are two of the 234 college scholarships worth a total of $302,450 that the Harrison County Farm Bureau, Kentucky Farm Bureau Education Foundation and numerous other individual county Farm Bureaus awarded this year to deserving students from across the Commonwealth.
After graduating, Sowder plans to attend Bluegrass Community and Technical College to receive a degree in radiology and pursue a career as a radiologist. She is the daughter of Joe and Anna Sowder of Cynthiana, KY.
Gasser intends to major in nursing at the Eastern Kentucky University and pursue a career as a nurse. She is the daughter of Adam and Sheila Gasser.  
The scholarships, offered annually, are awarded to recipients who display the greatest levels of academic excellence, involvement in extracurricular activities, leadership abilities and financial need.

The University of Kentucky has released its Dean’s List for the Spring 2012 semester.  A total of 4,810 students were recognized for their outstanding academic performance.
Students from Harrison County are: Luke M. Arthur, Eric Clay Case, Joshua Hampton Curtis, Stephen Arnold Furnish, Macy Marie Godman, Katelyn Ellen Gray, Jiselle Genevieve Hirsch, Kaya Michele Kane, Allison R. McVey, Krystin Leigh Smith, Madison McCauley Stephens, Nicholas Nader Tawasha, Eric Alen Turner.
To make a Dean’s List in one of the UK colleges, a student must earn a grade point average of 3.6 or higher and must have earned 12 credits or more in that semester, excluding credits earned in pass-fail classes.  Some UK colleges require a 3.5 GPA to make the Dean’s List.

Western Kentucky University has announced that Christopher L. Young, Cynthiana, has been named to the president’s lists for the spring 2012 semester. Full-time undergraduate students with a semester grade-point average of 3.4 to 3.79 are named to the Dean’s List. Students with a GPA of 3.8 to 4.0 are named to the President’s List.

Joe Moss, Harrison County Middle School eighth grade Maroon team member, was inadvertently left off the honor roll and the three year honor roll lists at the HCMS awards program.