2013 Jim Claypool Conservation Art and Writing contest winners named

-A A +A

Mission: H2O!  This was the theme for the 2013 Jim Claypool Conservation Art and Writing Contest sponsored by the Kentucky Farm Bureau Federation and Kentucky Association of Conservation Districts.
This year, every school in the county participated in the contests.  
There were 206 entries in the writing contest between the middle school and high school, and 335 entries in the art contest from every elementary school.
To increase participation, the Harrison County Conservation District co-sponsored a Teacher Participation Contest with the Harrison County Farm Bureau Board.  
Teachers with 95 percent classroom participation or better were entered in a drawing at each school to receive $100.  
The winners of this contest were: HCMS-Kim Jenkins; Northside-Pam Cunningham; Eastside-Sherry Pawley; Southside-Lou Ann Boyers; and St. Edwards-Debbie McKinley.  
The entries are judged first at a school level, the top three entries are then submitted to the local conservation district where first through third place is awarded for each school.  
Then, all of the school entries are judged at a county level. The first place county winners in the art and writing contests are then entered into the area contest, state contest and finally the national contest.  
School winners receive a certificate, a t-shirt, their returned entry and a monetary award for their participation in the contest.
This year, Victoria Gasser, fifth grade from St. Edward Catholic School, placed first in Harrison County in the art contest as well as first place in the Area 5 contest, winning a total of $145.  
Madison Kellione, seventh grade from Harrison County Middle School, placed first in Harrison County in the writing contest as well as second place in the state contest, winning a total of $245.
Finishing out the top three in the county for the writing contest were Holly Winkle-HCHS, second place, and Hannah Perkins-HCMS, third place.  
The top three in the county for the art contest were Katlyn Fitzpatrick, second place, and Makenzie Florence, third place, both from Westside Elementary School.
School art winners were:
Northside: Gabby Cisneros (first), Brian Kimbrell, Jr. (second), Sonja Martin (third).  
Eastside: Auna Caudill (first) Emily Crowther (second), Jessalyn Kuntz (third).  
Southside: Payton Doyle (first), Hailey Herrington (second), Haleigh Jones (third).  
Westside: Katlyn Fitzpatrick (first, County second), Makenzie Florence (second, county third), Andrew Harpe (third).  
St. Edward: Victoria Gasser (first, county first), Sydney Furnish (second), Grace Scrudder (third).
School writing winners were:
HCMS: Madison Kellione (first, county first), Hannah Perkins (second, county third), Duncan Wiley (third).  
HCHS: Holly Winkle (first, county second), Morgan Owsley (second), Autumn Gray (third).